Click for Bookshop

Newbyth House

A historical perspective, drawn from the Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland: A Survey of Scottish Topography, Statistical, Biographical and Historical, edited by Francis H. Groome and originally published in parts by Thomas C. Jack, Grange Publishing Works, Edinburgh between 1882 and 1885.

This edition is copyright © The Editors of the Gazetteer for Scotland, 2002-2016.

It has taken much time and money to make the six-volumes of Groome's text freely accessible. Please help us continue and develop by making a donation. If only one out of every ten people who view this page gave £5 or $10, the project would be self-sustaining. Sadly less than one in thirty-thousand contribute, so please give what you can.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry Arrow

Newbyth, a mansion, with finely-wooded grounds, in Whitekirk parish, Haddingtonshire, on Peffer Burn, 17/8 mile ENE of East Fortune station, and 3 miles NNW of East Linton. Standing amid beautiful scenery, it is a castellated edifice, erected from designs by William Adam towards the close of last century. Since the early part of the 17th century the estate has been held by a younger branch of the Bairds of Auchmedden, members of which were John Baird (1620-98), created a lord of session as Lord Newbyth, and General Sir David Baird, K. C.B. (1757-1829), the captor of Seringapatam, created a baronet in 1809. His grand-nephew, Sir David Baird, third Bart. (b. 1832; suc. 1852), holds 2021 acres in East, and 751 in Mid, Lothian, valued at £5098 and £3857 per annum. See Gilmerton and Fern-Tower.—Ord. Sur., sh. 33, 1863. See vol. ii. of John Small's Castles and Mansions of the Lothians (Edinb. 1883).

An accompanying 19th C. Ordnance Survey map is available, or use the map tab to the right of this page.

Note: This text has been made available using a process of scanning and optical character recognition. Despite manual checking, some typographical errors may remain. Please remember this description dates from the 1880s; names may have changed, administrative divisions will certainly be different and there are known to be occasional errors of fact in the original text, which we have not corrected because we wish to maintain its integrity. This information is provided subject to our standard disclaimer

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better