A location in Strath Suardal in E Central Skye (Highland Council Area), Kilchrist (Gael: Cill Chriosd) is situated 2½ miles (4 km) southwest of Broadford and a similar distance east of Torrin. Located here are the ruined parish church of Cill Chriosd and the picturesque Loch Cill Chriosd.
Kilchrist was once famous for its marble quarries, on the slopes of Ben Suardal. Once prized for its beauty and compared with white Italian Carrara marble, Skye marble formed by the heating of the local limestone by igneous intrusions in the Tertiary Era. Marble was worked here from at least the 18th century and a narrow-gauge railway was built in 1904 to link the quarries with a pier at Broadford. Initially this was operated by horse, but from 1910 a small steam locomotive was used. The line was abandoned in 1914 when the operating company became bankrupt. Extracting the marble proved difficult and expensive and quarrying finally ended here in 1939. The old quarries and the ruins of buildings, including worker's cottages and a railway platform, can still be seen.