Olympians Statue

A monument on the village green in the centre of Aviemore (Highland) dedicated to the Olympians of Badenoch and Strathspey, an area which has produced more Olympic athletes per head of population than anywhere else in the UK, primarily due to the nearby winter sports facilities on Cairn Gorm. Unveiled on 16th October 2007 by Lord Coe, the middle-distance runner who became Chair of the London Olympic bid. The fourteen commemorated by the monument are: Iain Finlayson (Alpine skiing); Peter Fuchs (Alpine skiing); Roddy Langmuir (Alpine skiing); Sean Langmuir (Alpine skiing); Ewan MacKenzie (Nordic skiing); Louise MacKenzie (Nordic skiing); Ingrid Grant (Alpine skiing); Alain Baxter (Alpine skiing); Andrew Freshwater (Alpine skiing); Douglas Dryburgh (curling); James Dryburgh (curling); Craig MacLean (cycling); Noel Baxter (Alpine skiing) and Lesley McKenna (snowboarding).

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better