Click for Bookshop

Mearns, The

The Mearns
©2019 Gazetteer for Scotland

The Mearns

The former county of Kincardine, now southern Aberdeenshire, was often referred to as The Mearns, a name that is more accurately ascribed to that area of fertile rolling farmland between the Grampians and the east coast of Scotland. The Howe of the Mearns refers to that part of the district straddling the Luther Water and lying east of Fettercairn. Laurencekirk is the chief settlement and amongst the areas attractions is the Grassic Gibbon Centre which celebrates the life and writings of the Mearns novelist James Leslie Mitchell, better known as Lewis Grassic Gibbon.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better