Parish of Banchory-Ternan

Banchory-Ternan is a parish, which lies in Aberdeenshire Council Area, some 13 miles (21 km) northwest of Stonehaven and 14 miles (23 km) west of Portlethen in Aberdeenshire.

It is located in the old county of Kincardineshire, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 82 sq. km (31.6 sq. miles) and includes the settlement of Banchory. Banchory-Ternan has 7 neighbouring parishes; namely Birse, Drumoak, Durris, Echt, Kincardine O'Neil, Midmar and Strachan. The boundaries of this parish were modified among significant changes recommended by the Boundary Commissioners after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better