Parish of Paisley

Paisley is a parish, which lies on the River Clyde in Renfrewshire Council Area, some 5 miles (9 km) south of Clydebank in West Dunbartonshire and 5 miles (9 km) northwest of Newton Mearns in East Renfrewshire.

It is located in the old county of Renfrewshire, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 69 sq. km (26.6 sq. miles) and includes the settlement of Paisley. Paisley has 6 neighbouring parishes; namely Eastwood, Govan, Kilbarchan, Lochwinnoch, Neilston and Renfrew. The boundaries of this parish were modified among significant changes recommended by the Boundary Commissioners after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889 and again by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1894.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better