Click for Bookshop

Parish of New Abbey

New Abbey is a coastal parish, which lies in Dumfries and Galloway Council Area, some 11 miles (18 km) east of Castle Douglas and 16 miles (25 km) southwest of Lockerbie in Dumfries and Galloway.

It is located in the old county of Kirkcudbrightshire, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 54.2 sq. km (20.9 sq. miles). New Abbey has 5 neighbouring parishes; namely Colvend & Southwick, Kirkbean, Kirkgunzeon, Lochrutton and Troqueer.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better