East Dunbartonshire

A small Local Government Area in the Central Lowlands, East Dunbartonshire extends over an area of 172 sq. km (66 sq. miles) between Glasgow and the Campsie Fells. Between 1975 and 1996 it comprised the districts of Strathkelvin and Bearsden and Milngavie in Strathclyde Region. Its principal settlements on the northern periphery of Glasgow are Kirkintilloch (the administrative centre), Bearsden, Milngavie, Bishopbriggs and Lennoxtown. Over 75 per cent of the land is given over to farming, the remainder largely being urban.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better