Old County of Kirkcudbrightshire

(The Stewartry)

A former maritime county in S Scotland, Kirkcudbright was incorporated into Dumfries and Galloway in 1974. With an area of 898 sq. miles (2325 sq. km), it included territory stretching from the Solway Firth northwards into the Galloway Hills, bounded by Dumfriesshire to the E, Wigtownshire to the W and Ayrshire to the N and NW. Its chief towns were Kirkcudbright (the former county town), Castle Douglas, Dalbeattie, Gatehouse of Fleet and New Galloway. Also known as The Stewartry, Kirkcudbright was ruled by a steward, first appointed by the Lords of Galloway in the late 14th Century.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better