The Five Articles of Perth

1617 - 1618

The Five Articles of Perth were a set of 'popish practices' imposed by King James VI on the Presbyterian Church of Scotland in an attempt to integrate it with the Episcopalian Church of England. This insensitive move was deeply unpopular with the Scots, who were proud of their democratic system of church governance. The articles were reluctantly accepted by the General Assembly of the Church in 1618, but were not approved by the Scottish Parliament until 1621. They were later repealed and the Church returned to its Presbyterian traditions.

The articles provided for (1) kneeling during communion, (2) private baptism, (3) private communion for the sick or infirm, (4) confirmation by a Bishop and (5) the observance of Holy Days.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better