Pittodrie Stadium

Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
©2022 Gazetteer for Scotland

Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen

Pittodrie Stadium, home to Aberdeen Football Club and the principal football stadium in the city, is located on Pittodrie Street, a mile (1.5 km) north northeast of the city centre.

Established in 1881, Aberdeen Football Club came into existence through the work of a group of twelve individuals who were predominantly teachers (hence the team nickname of 'The Dons'). They took over the tenancy of an area of ground and renamed it Pittodrie Park, after the owner of the land, Mr Knight Erskine of Pittodrie. In 1903, it was decided to amalgamate Aberdeen Football Club with two other clubs from Aberdeen, namely Orion and Victoria United, and a new club known as Aberdeen Football Club Limited, was established on the 18th April that year.

Pittodrie Park gave way to Pittodrie Stadium in the 1960s as the stadium was restyled after a £100,000 facelift. Today, the stadium has a seating capacity of 21,634.

Aberdeen Football Club has won the Scottish League four times, most recently in the 1984-85 season, and have won the Scottish Cup seven times, the last time being in 1990.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better