Outer Hebrides

(Western Isles, Innse Gall, Innis Gall)

The Outer Hebrides (Gael: Innse Gall or Innis Gall) or Western Isles consist of a chain of islands extending 130 miles (208 km) from the Butt of Lewis in the north to Barra Head in the south, the principal islands being Lewis and Harris, North Uist, Benbecula, South Uist and Barra.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better