The Rhins of Galloway

(The Rhins; Rinns of Galloway; North Rhins of Galloway; South Rhins of Galloway)

Marian Tower and the lush pastures of the North Rhins of Galloway
©2022 Gazetteer for Scotland

Marian Tower and the lush pastures of the North Rhins of Galloway

A district of west Dumfries and Galloway forming a prominent double-headed peninsula of SW Scotland, The Rhins, or more fully The Rhins of Galloway (also The Rinns of Galloway), extends from Milleur Point and Corsewall Point in the North, to the Mull of Galloway some 27 miles (43 km) to the south. Once part of the old country of Wigtownshire, it is separated from the larger part of that division by an isthmus, lying between Loch Ryan and Luce Bay. Its chief towns are Stranraer and Portpatrick. Fishing, agriculture and tourism are important industries in addition to connections by sea with Ireland. The northern section of the peninsula, lying to the west of Loch Ryan, is known as the North Rhins of Galloway; while the South Rhins of Galloway form the western side of Luce Bay.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better