The Cairngorms National Park

Designated in 2003, the Cairngorms National Park is Scotland's second national park. It extends over parts of Aberdeenshire, Angus, Highland and Moray Council Areas, from Strathspey in the north to the Angus glens in the south and Dinnet in the east to Laggan in the west. Significant settlements within its boundary include Newtonmore, Kingussie, Aviemore, Grantown-on-Spey, Tomintoul, Ballater and Braemar. The population living in the park is 15,000. The Cairngorms National Park includes within its bounds the Cairngorm and Glenshee ski areas, the forests of Abernethy, Glenmore and Rothiemurchus and the high peaks of the Cairngorm Mountains rising to 1309m (4296 feet) at Ben Macdui, the second highest mountain in Britain, together with much of Royal Deeside. It is said to be home to 25% of Britain's threatened animal, insect, plant, fungi and lichen species.

The park was extended in 2010 to include areas of Northern Perthshire, such as Blair Atholl, Killiecrankie and Glen Shee. Its total area is now 1,748 sq miles (4,528 sq km). Unlike the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and English National Parks, the Cairngorms National Park is not a planning authority and has to work with local government in relation to development within its boundaries. This has led to some controversy.

Tourism makes a significant contribution to the local economy and visitor numbers have steadily increased since 2012, with more than 1.75 million people visiting the National Park in 2016.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better