Parish of Hawick

Hawick is a parish, which lies in the Scottish Borders Council Area, some 11 miles (17 km) west of Jedburgh and 12 miles (20 km) south of Melrose in the Scottish Borders.

It is located in the old county of Roxburghshire, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 60.7 sq. km (23.4 sq. miles) and includes the settlement of Hawick. Hawick has 6 neighbouring parishes; namely Ashkirk, Cavers, Lilliesleaf, Minto, Roberton and Teviothead. The boundaries of this parish were modified among significant changes recommended by the Boundary Commissioners after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889 and again by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1894.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better