North Ayrshire

Sea Front, Ardrossan
©2022 Gazetteer for Scotland

Sea Front, Ardrossan

A local government area in SE Scotland, North Ayrshire lies on the Firth of Clyde and includes the Cunninghame district of Ayrshire as well as the islands of Arran, Great Cumbrae and Little Cumbrae. It is bounded by East Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, Renfrewshire, South Ayrshire and the Firth of Clyde and has an area of 88,755 ha. Its main towns are Irvine (the administrative centre), Ardrossan, Saltcoats, Largs, Dalry Stevenston and Kilwinning. The area includes mountains and part of Clyde Muirshiel Regional Park in the north and its chief rivers include the Garnock, Dusk Water and Noddsdale Water. There are ferry links with islands in the Firth of Clyde from Ardrossan and Largs. Places of interest include Brodick Castle, the North Ayrshire Museum in Ardrossan and Kelburn Country Centre near Largs.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better