Old County of Angus


A former maritime and agricultural county of E Scotland, Angus (known as Forfarshire until 1929) extends to 875 sq. miles (2266 sq. km). It was bounded to the N by Aberdeenshire and Kincardineshire, to the E by the North Sea, to the W by Perthshire, to the S by Firth of Tay. The county town is Forfar, although Dundee was the major city and other settlements Monifieth, Carnoustie, Arbroath, Montrose, Brechin and Kirriemuir. Strathmore forms a broad fertile valley between the Sidlaw Hills and the Braes of Angus (a range within the Grampian Mountains) to the N. Its principal rivers were the N and S Esk, Isla and Dighty. Angus was also an ancient earldom. In 1974 the county was incorporated into Tayside Region, before being re-established as a separate unitary authority in 1996.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better