Old County of Renfrewshire

A former county of W Scotland, Renfrewshire was the seventh smallest county extending to 245 sq. miles (634 sq. km). It is bounded to the N by the River Clyde and the county of Dunbartonshire, to the W by the Firth of Clyde, to the S by Ayrshire and to the E Lanarkshire. The county town is Renfrew, while its several substantial settlements include Bishopton, Bridge of Weir, Eaglesham, Giffnock, Gourock, Greenock, Houston, Johnstone, Kilmacolm, Paisley, Neilston, Newton Mearns and Port Glasgow. Its principal rivers were the Black Cart, White Cart and Gryfe. In 1974 the county was incorporated into Strathclyde Region but divided into Inverclyde, Renfrew and Eastwood Districts. With further local government re-organisation in 1996, these became Inverclyde, Renfrewshire and East Renfrewshire Council Areas respectively.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better