Old County of Ross and Cromarty

A former maritime county in the Scottish Highlands, Ross and Cromarty stretched from the North Sea to the Minch, while also included Lewis in the Outer Hebrides. It has a total area of 3078 sq. miles (7971 sq. km), making it the third largest of the 33 counties in terms of area. It is bounded to the N by Sutherland and to the S Inverness-shire. Its western coast is highly indented, with several significant sea lochs, such as Broom, Ewe, Gairloch, Torridon, Carron, Alsh and Duich. Its eastern coast includes the Dornoch, Cromarty, Beauly and Moray Firths, together with the Black Isle. Its county town was Dingwall, with other important settlements including Alness, Cromarty, Fortrose, Kyle of Lochalsh, Invergordon, Muir of Ord, Stornoway (on Lewis), Strathpeffer, Tain and Ullapool. In 1974 the county was divided between the new Western Isles Authority and Highland Region, the latter including the smaller Ross and Cromarty District. In the local government reorganisation of 1996, Ross and Cromarty remained divided between the Western Isles and Highland Council Areas.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better