Old County of Berwickshire

A former county of SE Scotland, Berwickshire had an area of 461 sq. miles (1193 sq. km) and was bounded to the N by East Lothian, to the E by the North Sea, to the SE by England, to the S and SW by Roxburghshire and to the W by Midlothian, extending southwards from the Lammermuir Hills to the lower course of the River Tweed which still forms the border with England. Tributaries of the Tweed, which provided Berwickshire with its principal rivers, include the Leader, Blackadder and Whiteadder. Its county town was Duns, with other significant settlements including Coldstream, Coldingham, the fishing port of Eyemouth, Greenlaw and Lauder. In 1974 it was incorporated into the new Borders Region as Berwickshire District and in the local government reorganisation of 1996 remained part of the Scottish Borders Council Area.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better