A former Scottish county extending over the valleys of the Ettrick, Yarrow and Tweed and the basin of St Mary's Loch, Selkirkshire was absorbed into the larger Borders Region in 1974, which became the Scottish Borders Council Area in 1996. Its county town was Selkirk.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better