Cumbernauld Line

(Cumbernauld Railway Line)

A railway line which connects Glasgow Queen Street with Falkirk Grahamston Railway Station in Central Scotland, the Cumbernauld Line is sometimes regarded as a branch of the North Clyde Line. The line extends for 24¼ miles (39 km) and begins on the Glasgow-Edinburgh Line (the former Edinburgh and Glasgow Railway, which opened in 1842) and continues on its Sighthill Branch (1855). It then follows the Castlecary Branch of the Caledonian Railway (1848) to Greenhill Junction, and continues by the route of the former Scottish Central Railway (which also opened in 1848) to the triangular Larbert Junction, a section shared with the present-day Glasgow-Perth Line. It then follows the former Stirlingshire Midland Junction Railway (1850) between Larbert Junction and Falkirk Grahamston, a section now shared with the present-day Edinburgh-Dunblane Line. The fastest train from Queen Street to Grahamston is 39 minutes. Most services continue to Edinburgh Waverley with a total journey time of one hour and 20 minutes.

There are nine stations; namely Glasgow Queen Street, Springburn, Robroyston, Stepps, Gartcosh, Greenfaulds, Cumbernauld, Camelon and Falkirk Grahamston Railway Station. As part of the Edinburgh-Glasgow Improvement Programme, the line was electrified as far as Cumbernauld by 2014 and over its complete length by 2018.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better