Old County of Moray


A former county, earldom and ancient kingdom of NE Scotland, Moray (for a time Elginshire) had an area of 476 sq. miles (1232 sq. km) and is located between the Moray Firth to the N, Nairn to the W, Banff to the E and Inverness-shire to the W. The county town was Elgin, with its other principal settlements including Findhorn, Fochabers, Forres and Lossiemouth. Its principal rivers were the Findhorn, Lossie and Spey. Moray was jointly administered with Nairnshire from 1929. In 1974 it was incorporated into Grampian Region, before being re-established as a separate entity, by that stage including most of Banffshire, in 1996.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better