Old County of Banffshire

A former county of NE Scotland lying between Morayshire to the west and Aberdeenshire to the east, Banffshire had an area of 641 sq. miles (1660 sq. km) and extended northwards from the Cairngorm Mountains to the coast of the Moray Firth. Watered by the River Spey and River Deveron, its county town was Banff. In 1974 it was incorporated into the Banff and Buchan District of Grampian Region and in the local government reorganisation of 1996 was divided between Moray and Aberdeenshire Council Areas.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better