Old County of Argyllshire

A former county and an ancient dukedom of W Scotland, Argyllshire is the home of the Clan Campbell. It was the second largest county, next to Inverness-shire, with an area of 3213 sq. miles (8321 sq. km). Bounded to the N by Inverness-shire, to the E by Perthshire and Dunbartonshire and to the S Bute & Arran, Argyllshire encompassed a long, indented coastline, with numerous sea-lochs, mountainous countryside and islands comprising the southern section of the Inner Hebrides. From north to south, its principal divisions are Locheil, Ardgour, Sunart, Ardnamurchan, Morven, Lorn, Argyll, Cowal, Knapdale and Kintyre. Now part of Argyll and Bute Council Area, it was divided between Strathclyde and Highland regions between 1975 and 1996. Its county town was historically Inveraray, although Lochgilphead was later the seat of its administration. Other substantial settlements included Oban, Campbeltown and Dunoon.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better