A peninsula and parish in the Lochaber district of SW Highland Council Area (but once in Argyllshire), Morvern is bounded by Loch Sunart, the Sound of Mull and Loch Linnhe. The peninsula is bigger than the parish, also incorporating parts of the neighbouring Ardgour, notably the district of Kingairloch. The principal settlements of Morvern are the ferry port of Lochaline and Fiunary, while its highest points are Fuar Bheinn (785m / 2511 feet) and Beinn Mheadhoin (739m / 2423 feet) in the east. Lead and copper ore were formerly mined at Lurga in Glen Dubh and Ternate.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better