An old district of Argyllshire, now divided between Argyll & Bute and Highland, extending south from Loch Leven to Loch Awe and eastwards from Loch Linnhe to Rannoch Moor, Lorn (often Lorne) was an ancient lordship of the MacDougalls and the Stewarts before falling into the hands of the Campbells. The district gives its name to the courtesy title Marquis of Lorne held by the eldest son of the Duke of Argyll.

Lorn is divided into Upper Lorn, lying to the north of Loch Etive, Middle Lorn, lying to the south of Loch Etive and Nether Lorn, lying to the northwest of Loch Awe but descending as far south as Kilmartin and Loch Crinan. Its principal town is Oban.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better