Nether Lorn

(Nether Lorne)

One of three divisions of Lorn and the only one remaining in common usage, Nether Lorn (sometimes Nether Lorne) refers to that part of Mid-Argyll which lies to the northwest of Loch Awe and the north of Lochs Avich and Melfort, together with those islands in the area where the Firth of Lorne widens between Jura and Mull, approximately 12 miles (19 km) southwest of Oban. In modern terms, Nether Lorn also includes the area to the south of Loch Melfort north of Loch Craignish, extending as far south as Kilmartin and Loch Crinan. The district is generally considered to include Scarba, Lunga, the Garvellachs and Shuna, together with the Slate Islands (Seil, Easdale, Luing, Belnahua). Nether Lorn has no natural northern boundary with Middle Lorn and the southern boundary with Knapdale is equally indistinct.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better