Diocese of Argyll and the Isles

St. Columba's Cathedral, Oban
©2022 Gazetteer for Scotland

St. Columba's Cathedral, Oban

Originally founded as the Diocese of Argyll c.1185, by the division of the Diocese of Dunkeld and as the Diocese of the Isles, in 1387, by the division of the Diocese of Man, the modern Diocese of Argyll and the Isles was established in 1878, when the Roman Catholic church was restored in Scotland. The Diocese includes 25 parishes and extends from the Outer Hebrides in the northwest, to Arran in the south, including the Kintyre Peninsula and much of the Inner Hebrides. With an estimated population of 10,600 adherents, its cathedral is the 20th C. Neo-Gothic St. Columba's in Oban.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better