Wester Ross

Wester Ross, with northern Skye in the distance
©2022 Gazetteer for Scotland

Wester Ross, with northern Skye in the distance

A rugged and sparsely-populated mountainous area of the North West Highlands, with a deeply indented coastline, Wester Ross comprises the western part of the former county of Ross and Cromarty. It stretches westwards from a point 9 miles (15 km) northwest of Dingwall and includes Beinn Eighe National Nature Reserve, Kinlochewe Forest and the settlements of Ullapool, Poolewe, Aultbea, Dundonnell, Torridon, Sheildaig and Applecross.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better