Parish of Kirkcowan

Kirkcowan is a parish, which lies in Dumfries and Galloway Council Area, some 7 miles (12 km) west of Newton Stewart and 7 miles (12 km) west of Newton Stewart in Dumfries and Galloway.

It is located in the old county of Wigtownshire, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 146.7 sq. km (56.6 sq. miles). Kirkcowan has 6 neighbouring parishes; namely Colmonell, Kirkinner, Mochrum, New Luce, Old Luce and Penninghame.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better