Summer Isles

A group of a dozen small islands at the mouth of Loch Broom on the coast of Wester Ross, the Summer Isles comprise a group of dispersed islands including Tanera Mor, Tanera Beg, Priest Island, Isle Ristol, Eilean Mullagrach, Glas-leac Mor, Glas-leac Beag, Horse Island, Eilean Dubh, Bottle Island, and Carn nan Sgeir. They acquired their name from the practice of local farmers using the islands for the summer grazing of their livestock. A private post office on Tanera Mor issues Summer Isles postage stamps.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better