Parish of Hamilton

Hamilton is a parish, which lies on the River Clyde in South Lanarkshire Council Area, some 5 miles (8 km) east of East Kilbride in South Lanarkshire and 8 miles (12 km) south of Coatbridge in North Lanarkshire.

It is located in the old county of Lanarkshire, which disappeared following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1974.

The parish has an area of 53.8 sq. km (20.7 sq. miles) and includes the settlement of Hamilton. Hamilton has 7 neighbouring parishes; namely Blantyre, Bothwell, Cambusnethan, Dalserf, Dalziel, Glassford and Stonehouse. The boundaries of this parish were modified among significant changes recommended by the Boundary Commissioners after the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889 and again by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1894.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better