Old County of Inverness-shire

At 4088 sq. miles (10587 sq. km), Inverness-shire was formerly the largest county in Scotland and included a considerable section of the Highlands, together with the northern section of the Inner Hebrides (principally Skye and the Small Isles) and the Outer Hebrides south of Lewis. To the N was the county of Ross & Cromarty, to the E Nairn, Moray, Banffshire and Aberdeenshire, to the S Perthshire and Argyllshire. Its county town was Inverness, with other important settlements including Fort William, Kingussie, Mallaig and Portree. In 1974 its territory was divided between the Western Isles Authority and Highland Regional Council, the latter containing the much smaller Inverness District. Following the local government reorganisation into unitary authorities which took place in 1996, Inverness disappeared completely in a formal sense, but has remained as an informal administrative unit within the sizeable new Highland Council Area.

Use the tabs on the right of this page to see other parts of this entry arrow

If you have found this information useful please consider making
a donation to help maintain and improve this resource. More info...

By using our site you agree to accept cookies, which help us serve you better